It’s Called the Blame Game and It’s Easy to Play!

Standard

                Humans have been playing this game since the beginning of time. Adam created the game and every human since has tried to play. The rules are simple. Blame somebody else for whatever you have done and you’ve hopped onto the game board. If the person listening believes you, move ahead one space. In the Garden of Eden, life was good. No need for the Blame Game. Adam and Eve experienced an ideal relationship with God – until the fateful day when Eve got talking to that serpent, the day she and Adam deliberately disobeyed God. After Adam and Eve sinned, God confronted them with a few questions.

Why ask? Doesn’t God know everything? Of course He does! In asking, He gave Adam and Eve a choice. They could either answer truthfully and repent for their blatant sin, or they could try to cover their butts and sin again. As their fig leaves foreshadowed, they would try to cover their butts.

In response to God’s “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree of which I commanded you that you should not eat?” (Genesis 2:11) Adam replies, “The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me of the tree and I ate.” (Genesis 2:12)

In the Blame Game this appears to be a smart move. Adam blames two individuals in one sentence. First, he blames Eve because she gave him the naughty fruit. But in case that isn’t good enough, he even frames God, by pointing out that He’s the one who brought Eve about. Ignoring the dig aimed toward Himself, God humors Adam for a moment and plays along with the finger pointed toward Eve. Good job, Adam. Move ahead one space on the board.

“And the Lord God said to the woman, ‘What is this you have done?’”

Eve follows Adam’s lead and jumps onto the Blame Game board.

“The woman said, ‘The serpent deceived me, and I ate.’” (Genesis 2:13)

For a minute and a half, Adam and Eve may have believed that God bought into their game. They probably felt a wave of relief pass over them as God addressed the serpent. Then God turned back to the woman. Uh-oh.

As the consequences in verses 16 through 19 would imply, God doesn’t play the Blame Game. He already knows who did what, when. And He won’t even consider the silly notion that our problems are His fault.

I know that God knows better than all of this foolish play. And yet, how many times have I stuck my game piece on the board?

As my eyes remain glued to the sex scene on my TV screen, I remind God that I’m not the one who picked out this movie. It’s my friend’s fault that I’m indulging in lust right now. As I watch my newlywed friends and envy saturates my heart, I tell God that if they weren’t so cuddly all the time I wouldn’t get so jealous. I flaunt myself in front of men, then whine to God over their perverted glances. I find myself tempted by those same men, and pose the question, “God, if I’m not supposed to be with him, why would You plant him in my path?”  Sometimes I sulk in bitterness or glare with hatred. But it’s not because I have a problem – it’s because of the ways I’ve been mistreated, the childhood abuse. Have I won the first round of the game yet?

These thousands of years later, I’m playing the same game Adam and Eve played. It’s a good thing God is patient, right?

Leave a Reply

